Zimbabwean E-Passports To Be Made Available In South Africa

Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage of Zimbabwe, Ambassador Raphael Faranisi said registration officers will travel to the South African embassy this week to train consular staff on how to process e-passports.

Earlier, he added, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade carried out reforms at the consulate, which were successfully completed. This is reported by Prensa Latina, a partner of TV BRICS.

He then said officials sent to Johannesburg for the purpose, training consulate staff, would also issue the first e-passports this week.

Inside Zimbabwe, government has opened several e-passport issuing centres, including in Harare, Bulawayo, Guruve, Gwanda, Gweru, Lupana, Marondera, Beitbridge, Chitungwiza, Hwange, Mazowe, Murehwa, Zvishavane, Chinhoyi and Guruve.

The issuance of e-passports started in Zimbabwe on 18 January 2022 when a government decree was passed to ease the process of obtaining travel documents which had previously been cumbersome for many people.

African Times published this article in partnership with International Media Network TV BRICS



Related Articles

African Times